Nissan GTR Breakdown

I have literally had a person ask me how I did the Nissan GTR shot below so I thought I would share a little about how the image was made. I won’t go into too much detail and I will assume that you have a working knowledge of 3DsMax and VRay as well as how to use photoshop.

Now first things first, I did not make the model. I am too lazy and it takes too much time.

Ok so first for a little bit of background about the image; I spend all day making realistic renders of cars at work so I decided straight off the bat that I wanted to do something a little bit more illustrative. I wanted the image to be a lot more emotional and atmospheric rather than technical and accurate. I had collected a series of rig shots as inspiration and quickly went about setting up a camera angle.

Once the was sorted I had to go about setting up the lighting. Seeing as most of my reference shots were shot at night or in a dark setting, I felt that was what I wanted to replicate.

The first thing I do when working on a car is “describe” the car. Now, seeing as I didn’t have a HDRI to work with I had to use studio lighting to pick out the details of the car. Above you can see the position of my studio lights. I have removed the studio but I am pretty sure you can figure out the shape of position of it by looking at the lights.

Once I was happy with the base reflections I wanted to add the light streaks caused by a long exposure on a rig shot.

This is a screen grab of what I used for the light streaks. Nothing glamorous or special. It is literally a load of splines set to “renderable splines” with a VRayLightMtl applied to it. These would cause the reflections over the car as well as become the template for the background which I will come back to later.

Once I was satisfied I render out the car only, without the wheels. What you see above is a RAW render of the car without the wheels. I rendered the wheels separately because they would take a lot longer to render due to the motion blur applied to them.

 And these are the wheels. These were animated in 3DsMax and then rendered using a slow shutter speed to control the level of blur on them. Pretty much the same way it is done in real life. I could have just used photoshop to blur the wheels but I feel VRay does a better job at creating a realistic blur.

To do this all the object that would rotate were assigned to a dummy which was centred and aligned to the rim. The dummy was then animated over about 5 frames and then rendered in the middle frame (frame 3).

For the background I made a series of selection sets in photoshop using the above image. This allowed me to paint the lights in using a series of brushed and blending modes in photoshop. I duplicated and blurred certian layers to add a sort of glow to the lights.

As well as using the AO pass (Ambient Occlusion) in the main composite I also used it to create the shadow on the floor. This was done for two reasons.
1; Because it was quick. and;
2; Because I was too lazy to set up more lights to create a pleasing shadow.

Once I assembled the whole image, I did some global colour corrections and level adjustments as well as tweaking exposure and contrast on certain parts of the car. I then exported a flattened version of the image from photoshop into AfterEffects to do the lens flares. Then back into photoshop for some final touches.

It’s at this point that I will be a little honest. I did kind of get to a stage where I thought this looked “good enough“… I know there is a lot more I could have done to improve it but I have a slow machine so this would take a fair old amount of time to re-render and develop.
Who knows…maybe another day.

Hope you liked my little breakdown.

Dave.

 

4 responses to “Nissan GTR Breakdown

  1. I really like what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

  2. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

