Are Vexels Making a comeback?

Well are they?

For those who don’t know what a Vexel is:

Vexel is a neologism for an entirely pixel-based form of raster art that imitates the visual appearance of vector graphics technique (i.e. sharp-edged lines and areas of flat colour or smooth gradient fills). The word itself is a portmanteau derived from a combination of “vector” and “pixel”.

Consider yourself educated.

From what I have seen on forums, there is a growing number of Vexel signatures being used. Does this mean that it is going to be cool to make Vexel art again? If so I have a back log of work that I did about 3 years ago. Why not have a look:

What do you think? Love it? Hate? I am not sure, I can remember how long these things took to create and the amount of cramp I got from clicking the pen tool all the time in Photoshop.

Thanks for watching.

5 responses to “Are Vexels Making a comeback?

  1. I just learned how to use pen tool in Photoshop, and I have been vexeling some of my own artwork. There are some pretty beautiful vexels done of women, but I am not sure if I have the patience for working on something that isn’t fully mine.

Leave a Reply

