Welcome back…

Well it has been a while. Too long if you ask me. I’ll fill you all in on what I have been up to.

It basically got to the point with my e30 M3 that my computer just could not handle everything that was in the scene. I wasn’t even finished modelling ffs! So I decided to bite the bullet and buy a new machine. I got a pretty good deal on some hardware. Ended up getting a Core i7 – 6Gb DDR3 RAM – GTS250 GFX card – P6TSE Asus Mother board and a Asus Wireless card. I also bought windows 7 (which by the way is pretty awesome!).

I had to wait a while before I got all of the components and could get the computer running to how I wanted. But I am back!

I could not wait! I had to open 3DS Max and see how it coped with the BMW model. Not only could it handle to the model with the wheels and tyres but it would spin the model without even slowing down. A test render had to follow.

I rendered this image with my last computer and that took nearly 10 hours. (9hours 46minutes to be precise). I added the extra bump maps to the lights and then rendered again this time with all 4 wheels and tyres in place. And well, here is the result:

This image took 4 hours to render. Which I am sure you will agree is a damn sight faster than before.

Right now I am currently working on the BMW but I am also making a new show reel so I will be shooting a few animations each night to compile at a later date. I will post updates as soon as I have them. Thanks for stopping by.

Oh and as soon as I have photoshop installed I will post up the critiques for the image above as there is quite a bit of work to be done on it.

Thanks for watching.

5 responses to “Welcome back…

  1. That looks really awesome ! Grats on your new computer, it has nice specs, must be fast just like the BMW your working on! Keep us posted! BTW, what will you use for compositing ?

  2. Thanks, yeah it is very fast 🙂

    Post work on the BMW will be done in Photoshop and for the show reel I will be using After Effects.

  3. Looks nice, but perhaps you should try with some more dramatic scene. Btw, have you bought i7 920 d0 stepping? If so, you could easily overclock it to 4.0ghz with 60-70€ cooler. There are thousands of tutorials on how to overclock i7 😛

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Welcome back… « Dav3design's Blog -- Topsy.com·

  5. Pingback: Things are going slow… « Dav3design's Blog·

Leave a Reply

