BMW e30 M3 WIP update 6

Small up date here (I’ll get to why in a minute). As I wanted to start doing some test renders of the front of the car I had to model some more parts that would be visible. That meant making the radiator and oil cooler for the S14 BMW engine. References were easy to find. I just went to bmwfans and found what I needed. Then it was off to work.

As you can see from the wireframes, it is a pretty simple looking model. I only needed the details that were going to be visible. That is why they are not super accurate.

I also wanted to have a go at unwrapping the Euro headlights on the BMW. That was done pretty simply and then I painted the detail on using Photoshop. What I created was a diffuse layer, bump layer and a reflection layer as well as transparency layer. Above you can see the flattened image and the test render.

You might notice on the test render that there isn’t any wheels. This is because my poor PC cannot handle all those polygons. So I will be getting a new system this week which I am super excited about. I will also be switching over to Windows 7 from XP. New PC specs are below.

Current PC:
Core 2 Duo 3.06GHz
4Gb RAM
nVidia 6800GS

New PC:
i7 920 2.66GHz
6Gb RAM
nVidia 6800GS

I am super excited about getting this, I cannot wait to see how the new i7 Core copes with rendering. This also means that my new PC will be able to handle a lot more so that means that the BMW will have an interior now. Good times.

Contact me if you are interested in buying any of my old hardware off of me.

Anyway that’s quite enough for this evening.

Thanks for watching.

2 responses to “BMW e30 M3 WIP update 6

  1. Pingback: Welcome back… « Dav3design's Blog·

  2. Pingback: Things are going slow… « Dav3design's Blog·

Leave a Reply

